Spring gardening

Hello,

Yesterday I was not only pleased to see that Spring has finally arrived in my little garden, I was also very happy to discover I have a honeysuckle plant.  I can’t remember ever planting a honeysuckle, but then there are loads of plants in my garden I have yet to identify, so it isnt a huge surprise.

It also turns out that the local honey bees love this plant.  A mini swarm covered the 7 foot honeysuckle from top to toe.  Good to know that the bees are already hard at work, and I, without any effort on my part, have already made a start on my garden resolutions, to encourage bees into the garden.  This is my kinda horticulture LOL.

The hard work will begin tomorrow.  The catalogues have been studied, I have so far resisted the erge to buy every plant I see, and soon I will be taking detailed photographs and making plans for my plot.  As daunting  as the work is going to be, I am still rather excited that my plans are beginning to take shape.

Here are a couple more shrubs which are beginning to flower.  If you have any idea what they are called, would you be so kind as to let me know?  Thanks :)

5 thoughts on “Spring gardening

  1. Pingback: or not – Sunday At Last « Things in life I find annoying

  2. Can’t help you with the second one.

    The shrub with the yellow flowers is a forsythia, it’s always one of the first to flower in the spring then turns all green. I always love seeing the burst of yellow. :-)

    My visit to your blog is part of the RandomBlog2011 Challenge. Look to be mentioned in a future post of mine and I will also send out a Tweet #randomblog2011

    Check it out at:
    http://whatsbuggingmetoday.wordpress.com/2011/02/25/or-not-at-last-here-it-is/

    • Hello,
      Thanks for the name, I can look up how to care for it now. I love the yellow flowers too.

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

