Cinnamon Sugar

Hi folks,

Since my post for the Triple Cinnamon Icecream, I thought it may be a good idea to post the recipe for the cinnamon sugar, as featured in the icecream recipe.  It is along the same line as the spiced sugar recipe I posted a few weeks back.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of caster sugar
  • 2 cinnamon sticks

Method:

(1) Pour the sugar into a clean food storage container (these pictured are from IKEA, but you can also collect old jam jars etc).

(2) Add the cinnamon sticks into the sugar.

(3) Close the container and leave in a dark place, like a cupboard, for 2 – 3 days.

(4) Discard the sticks

On the last point, I must admit I keep the sticks in the sugar, to develop a more intense, stronger favour.  However it may be wise to remove them if you have any health problems, or are concerned about food germs.

On another note, I have other sugars, which I store in the larder – including lemon sugar, orange & ginger and vanilla sugar.  I am also developing a recipe for lavender sugar – however for the lavender sugar I will be removing the lavender from the sugar, as it is a fresh herb, as opposed to the pre-dried herbs and spices I have used for the other sugars, and which means they are safer to store for a long period.

This is where I need your help.  I am looking for a shop which sells food grade lavender either fresh or dried.  If you have any suggestions, please can you let me know?  Thanks

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

