I finished my woolly hat…

… and thankfully it fits!  What do you think?  Not bad for a first attempt.  I would have finished sooner, had I not got mixed up with casting off stitches and decreasing stitches.  Opps!  I was wondering why it was looking more like a dilapidated tent than a hat.  Well the best way to learn sometimes is to learn from your mistakes.  And to boot I’ve added to my rapidly growing knitting skills. 

I mentioned in a previous post that I had run out of black wool and wanted to add in some colour.  The problem was that the colours I wanted to use were only 2 ply, as opposed to the 4 ply black wool I had started with.  So after a little scouting around on the web (my 2nd favourite thing to do after drinking copious amounts of tea),  I came across this technique:
Uploaded by WOOLANDTHEGANG. – More lifestyle, fashion and how-to videos.

Here is a close up of the effect achieved.

Next, I will be using the I-cords to decorate both my new hat and the draught excluder I made earlier this month. Stay tuned for the further adventures of the apron that turned into a woolly hat!

2 thoughts on “I finished my woolly hat…

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

