The adventures of the postponed rose bush hedge

Well here it is, the cleared patch of land.  It took me about 30 minutes and a well earned arnica bath, but I did it.  This little patch will be transformed into a glorious bed of roses fit for a Queen, or at least a wannabe garden Princess.

Even Bert the Robin came to inspect my work, and I think he approved.  Either that or he was after the earthworms I had dug up. 

Anyway, I am now proud reveal for the very first time, the completed rose bush hedge.  So without further ado, please allow me present to you, the world premier of the Queen Elizabeth floribunda rose hedge.  Cue trumpet fanfare…

Err, well yes, at the moment they look more like twigs sticking out of the ground, rather than a lush green hedge peppered with full, velvety, pink roses.  But it is March, give the poor things a chance! Think of it as a work in progress.  (That’s my excuse, and I’m sticking to it!)

I planted 7 out of the 12 roses purchased , before running out of space, which of course poses another problem – where do I plant the remaining 5 bushes? But at least that is one job out of the way, another tick off my garden resolutions list.

This hedge is going to be dedicated to the people of Japan.  I have many friends from Tokyo and Kyoto, and I just wanted somewhere in my garden to reflect on the plight many are suffering at the moment. 

Here is a link to Save the Children – Japan earthquake and tsunami appeal. http://www.savethechildren.org.uk/en/japan-earthquake-and-tsunami-appeal.htm?sourcecode=A11038054

This is the link for the Red Cross Japan tsunami appeal http://www.redcross.org.uk/Donate-Now/Make-a-single-donation/Japan-Tsunami-Appeal

This is the week of Red Nose Day, so if you could spare anything for that good cause as well, I’m sure they would be very grateful.

I’m also thinking of interplanting the hedge with Japanese plants, or even use some sort of Japanese ornament, so any suggestions would be very much appreciated. 

One thought on “The adventures of the postponed rose bush hedge

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

