My Lorraine Pascale’s bakes and makes

Since I purchased “Baking made easy“, by my new favourite TV chef Lorraine Pascale, I have been busy trying to fulfill one of my new year’s resolutions – to make every recipe from her book.

Well so far I have baked Soda Bread (yum), Brioche Rolls (yum, but I over baked them, opps!), Focaccia Bread (delicious), Breadsticks (I wish I had made more), Pizza Dough (superb quick dinner standby) Pumpkin and Rosemary Muffins (so delicious I nearly cried) and the famous “I can’t believe you made that” cake

Below, are 2 of my attempts, the muffins and the cake.

 

 

The cake above, which is a Coconut and Lime cake is a variation of Pascale’s “I can’t believe you made that” cake.  She used chocolate cigarellos and strawberries.  I used chocolate fingers as they were on sale, 2 for the price of 1.  Never let it be said that I don’t  have an eye for a bargain. I decorated the cake with carnations (don’t worry, I checked they were edible), and voilà!  A lovely, if simple sponge given a high impact makeover.  I will try to make the original cake, but I’m saving that for an extra special occasion, or when chocolate fingers are on sale again, which ever is sooner.  Cigarellos have the advantage of providing a more professional and expensive look to cakes, but they can be pricy compared to choccy fingers. So I suggest practice with fingers and then upgrade to cigarellos.

By the way, is it obvious that I adore Lorraine Pascale’s book (available at all good book stores, including Amazon!), or have I got away with it? 

One thought on “My Lorraine Pascale’s bakes and makes

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

