Garden Weekly (week 5)

There are 2 words in the English language that could easily strike fear into the green fingers of any budding gardener or a professional landscaper.  Those 2 words?

BIND WEED!!!!

And here it is, the dreaded evil weed, that is stronger than steel, grows faster than a speeding bullet and would make even Superman cry. 

 

I hate this stuff. I loathe it. I question why does it exist.  I didn’t ask it to come into my garden, why doesn’t it go away?  I have dug it up, sprayed it with all sorts of chemicals, even called it names, and every year like clock work and sadly without fail (unlike some of my loved plants) it comes back to taunt me.

Well this year is going to be different.  It’s going and it’s going for good.  With spade in hand and steely determination, I will dig up every last bit of this ultra annoying pest. 

Just have to made a cup of tea first!

Onto nicer things; some of the seed potatoes I ordered arrived today.  Here they are, looking lovely in their temporary home, ready for chitting. 

 

Not the most exciting stage of the gardening process, but necessary to ensure a good crop of potatoes in a few weeks time. The varieties I have currently are Red Duke of York, Lady Christl and Pink Fir Apple. According to the boffins on Gardeners’ World, these potatoes should be planted out already. Opps!  Well a couple of weeks shouldn’t hurt too much.   

Still no sign of the daffodils.  The forget-me-nots are coming on a treat, including the ones I transplanted.  The rose bushes are starting to develop and the sun is shining.  So all in all, a pretty good gardening day 🙂

3 thoughts on “Garden Weekly (week 5)

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

