Elle’s Quick Skimpy Salmon Pasta

“How much?” 

“For just 2 miserable slices?”

“One of them isn’t even enough to cover a cracker!”

Yes folks, today I discovered that salmon is very expensive.  I had been saving a packet of fresh Scottish oak smoked salmon slices, for today. I had been dreaming all week of the lush, silky smooth salmon slices, making up in my head thousands of recipes, for me to eat today. Everyone was given strict instructions that they were not to touch the salmon slices, for fear of being severely shouted at. I have had a very hectic week, so this was going to be my reward for all my hard work. 

I opened the pack of salmon to find what can only be described as the most tiny pieces of fish I have ever seen!  I wouldn’t have minded so much if the pack didn’t cost me £4!.  I could have purchased a whole chicken for that! And with that, out went the idea for the luxury salmon quiche for lunch, the delicious salmon risotto for dinner, but I put my foot down over the salmon omelette for breakfast.  Mostly because I had already cracked opened the eggs before I opened the packet of fish pieces (I refuse to refer to them as slices any more!!!!)

So I made a 3 egg omelette, cut the smaller piece of salmon into strips, added a few mini plum tomatoes and some grated cheese.  It was a nice breakfast.  But as lunch time loomed, I began to worry about what I was going to eat. With the best will in the world, that remaining bit if fish wa never going to transform itself into a lovely terrine!

This is why you should always have a well stocked store cupboard of goodies.  Dried tagliatelle  came to the rescue.  Here is the recipe, which I made up, ate all in one go, and now write this with a big smile and a full tummy.  😀

(Serves 1 greedy Elle, or 2 sensible people)

If you look really hard, you may be able to find some salmon!

Ingredients:

Enough dried tagliatelle per person (see packet for instructions)

3 spring onions, sliced

8-10 cherry tomatoes, quartered

3 heaped dessert spoons Philadelphia cheese with garlic and herbs

1 slice of salmon, cut into thin strips

1 tablespoon of roasted pine nuts

handful of grated cheese

olive oil

Method:

  • Cook the pasta according to the packet instructions, drain, reserving a few spoonfuls of water and set aside
  • In a large pan, sauté the spring onions over a medium heat for about 2 minutes
  • Add the tomatoes and cook for about 1 minute
  • Stir in the soft cheese and cook for a further minute
  • Add the salmon and heat for 1 more minute
  • Stir in the pasta and reserved cooking water
  • Place the pasta in the serving bowl(s!) and drizzle over with a little olive oil
  • Top off with the grated cheese, pine nuts and serve with salad leaves.
Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

