How to make your mattress last longer

OK a bit of a bizarre one today, but I came across this brilliant idea on the Martha Stewart website.  Last year I purchased a new bed. I needed one, since my last bed, which used to belong to my parents, was heading towards the wrong side of 30! Not that I intend to have a bed last another 30 years, but I would like to see it (and me for that matter) last at least the recommended 10 years. 

In order to do this, I did some sewing.  Huh? you may ask!  Well check out this page and it will explain all 🙂

http://www.marthastewart.com/photogallery/bedroom-organization#slide_11

I didn’t want to use a pen in case it rubbed off on my bed linen.  So instead, I found a scrap piece of cream fabric, and machine stitched the months. I then sewed on the labels, using tacking thread, as again I didn’t feel comfortable using safety pins – it would have left a bulky and untidy look to the dressed bed.  Try it out if you get a chance and let me know what you think. 🙂

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

