Mad day Sunday

Hello,

I’ve had one of those mad days today, where I had a million and 1 things to do.  Music reviews, blogging, cooking, baking, gardening, laundry, sorting photos, sunbathing….OK that last one isn’t exactly a hard work, but hey LOL.

It’s been a fun day, where I got to indulge in loads of my favourite things, including inventing a new rice recipe.  Here are the details to a very simple side dish.

Ingredients:

Long grain rice or Basmati rice (enough for 4 people)

2 handfuls of roasted chestnuts

1/2 cup of dried porcini mushrooms.

veggie or chicken stock cube

salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  1. Cook the rice in vegetable or chicken stock made from a stock cube.
  2. Stir in the reconstituted mushrooms and roasted chestnuts.
  3. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  4. Optional: add chopped chives or rosemary.

Serve with roast chicken.  Today I had some chicken breasts stuffed with Philadelphia cheese with chives, and wrapped in 3 rashers of turkey bacon.  A simple side salad completed the meal.

I also made a loaf of bread, flavoured with homemade celery salt – a great way to cut down on salt, while adding flavour, 2 smaller sun dried tomato loaves and 24 pumpkin muffins.  The tomato loaves and most of the muffins are currently tucked away in the freezer, and everything else is cooling, ready to be stored in the loaf bin.

The recipe for the muffins can be found here :- http://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/pumpkin_and_rosemary_11109

Having stuffed myself after a hard day’s work, I’m going to relax in front of the TV with a nice cup of tea.  I think I’ve earnt it 😀

 

2 thoughts on “Mad day Sunday

    1. Hello, thanks for your kind words. Funny enough I didn’t use a glaze. I’m going to post the recipe up this week, but it is a basic dough, with added sun dried tomatoes and the oil from the jar.

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

