What Kate wore next! (Alexander McQueen)

Hello,

It seems that London is once again the fashionable place to be, thanks mostly to the Duchess of Cambridge.  There has been much to say about Kate’s style, which I have to say meets with my approval, if not my purse.

Kate and her husband the Duke of Cambridge visited Birmingham yesterday to meet the victims of the recent riots. I thought Kate’s outfit was particularly nice, as I adore navy and the military look, but I wasn’t sure that turning up in an outfit that cost nearly £1,400 (and I’m not including the shoes!), was the appropriate thing to do.  I don’t have a clue how much Wills’ suit cost, but it didn’t look like if came from Primark!

Don’t get me wrong, people, whoever they are, should wear what they like, when they like and how they like, so long as it doesn’t cause harm to anyone else.  My concern is, when visiting people who have lost everything, is wearing an outfit which is worth more than the contents of most people’s entire wardrobe, unintentionally rubbing salt in their wounds?

But then if Wills and Kate turned up in jeans and t-shirts, can you imagine the uproar it would have caused in the press?  Many of the politicians who visited the riot areas also turned up wearing expensive suits.  I wish they turned up their sleeves and brought a broom instead!

Back to the trivial, here are the details of Kate’s outfit, enjoy.

Military silk-georgette blouse £795 and embellished wool-crepe skirt £580

both by Alexander McQueen at Net-a-porter.com

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

