The last of the mince pies

Hello,

Well here they are, the last of the mince pies, and you may be glad to know, I am all mince pied out.

I was contemplating copying Lorraine Pascale’s beautiful mince pie pin wheels, and even went as far as taking the puff pastry out of the freezer.

Picture source: http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/food/

Here’s how to make the pinwheels 🙂 http://youtu.be/r1xzfOy2LOY

However it occured to me that not only did I not have any more space left to store the pies, it was almost coming down to the choice of roast turkey or roast mince pies for Christmas dinner.

The pies almost won!

I used a scalloped circle cutter, and then cut out a star from the middle, using the small cutter. Topped the pies, brushed with some beaten egg and baked in the oven for 20 mintues at Gas mark 4.

For the mince pie parcels I cut out squares of pastry, added a spoonful of mincemeat in the middle, brushed the pastry edges with beaten egg and then folded in the corners over the mincemeat. I then topped off the parcels with a star.

Now all I have to do now is cook a very big lunch. Yikes! Well while I think about that, I may was well sit back with a couple of mincepies, a cup of tea. I can always make a start on that big lunch tomorrow … 🙂

4 thoughts on “The last of the mince pies

    1. Hello Lizzi,
      Thanks so much for the lovely comments 🙂 Go on, get that jar of mincemeat and make some pies 😉

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

