The Great Homemade Sourdough Bread Challenge – day 3

Hello,

Oh my, February already! It feels like Christmas was only a couple of days ago.

Anyway, day 3 of the challenge.  Here is my culture after it’s overnight rest –

It’s starting to bubble away, and the yeast scent is slightly stronger. Here it is after it’s feed –

Half way through now, the culture seems to be doing well.

So why the challenge? Well for a good while I have been fascinated with the idea that you can make bread without conventional yeast.  I have heard stories of baking artisans making sourdough bread from cultures which were started by their grandparents and great grandparents.  While I very much doubt this culture will be passed down the generations, I think it is always good to set myself a mini challenge every now and again, if nothing else, just to say I committed myself to a task and made it work.

Keep your fingers crossed for me. See you tomorrow 🙂

www.bebportfolio.wordpress.com

4 thoughts on “The Great Homemade Sourdough Bread Challenge – day 3

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

