The Great Homemade Sourdough Bread Challenge – day 4

Hello,

Day 4, I wake up to find my starter culture looks like this – I admit to being a little alarmed, and hope that this is what it’s supposed to do.  

In all other respects the culture appears to be ok – it has a nice yeasty scent, and when given a stir it looks fine. I’m not sure why the mixture has separated, but after some research, I can see do reason to drain off the top liquid, and decide to leave it as is. After it’s daily feed, it looks like this –

The sight of the bubbles is encouraging. Just one more feed of 80 g each of flour and water, and then I can make the sourdough bread. I do hope the culture is OK. We will find out in a couple of days!

See you tomorrow!

www.bebportfolio.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “The Great Homemade Sourdough Bread Challenge – day 4

    1. Hello, yes, so do I 🙂 Thanks for following, and please do have a go yourself and let us know how you get on.

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

