Philadelphia Cream Cheese with Cadbury Milk Chocolate

Hello,

When I heard Kraft were buying out Cadbury, I, like many others, became worried.  Kraft are known for, let’s just say, not the most healthiest or greatest tasting of food products. The only thing I like from that company is the universal Philadelphia cream cheese.

As I was strolling down the shopping market aisle, this concoction grabbed the corner of my eye.

Hmm, I’m surprised it took Kraft so long really, but could a processed cheese work with Cadbury’s milk chocolate? My verdict … could do better.

The taste starts off promisingly, the familiar and reassuring flavours of Cadbury’s milk chocolate are there. I start imagining all sorts of uses for this product, until the after taste hits. It’s not bad, but neither is it great. Cadbury’s chocolate has a flavour that is creamy, rich and decadent, finishing with a not too sweet, pleasant and comforting after taste.  When mixed with Philly cheese, the after taste seems almost artificial.

There are loads of uses for this product, such as easy chocolate cheesecake, chocolate dips, even frosting for a cup cake or two, but as a spread, I would stick with Nutella. In fact as a cooking ingredient I would either stick with Nutella or melt some Green and Blacks chocolate, as Cadbury’s milk chocolate is really only for eating, not cooking Best to save the Cadbury’s as a wicked treat to go with a nice cup of tea.

Rating 2.5 out of 5

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

