Hat Makeovers

Hi all,

Gosh, talk about fast.  These gems arrived the day after I ordered them. Kudos for River Island, I’m very impressed.

Well, here they are, my new cloche and my new pretend Eric Javits.

As I predicted, I wasn’t happy with the rhinestones on the bow of the cloche hat.  To me they are a little tacky on an otherwise chic and classic hat.

You can even see the dried glue trails! I know at £7 you get what you pay for, and this is a lovely, and well constructed hat. But I feel a little adjustment is required …

There, I think it looks much better. All it took was a quick search through my stash of ribbons. I had previously cut the grosgrain ribbon, which happened to exactly match the one on the hat, from an old paper shopping bag! Waste not, want not! I then tied a new bow, and tack stitched it on top of bow on the hat, making sure to cover the rhinestones.

For the ‘pretend Javits’ hat, or for my I “wannabe Blair Waldorf” moments (of which I have far too many!), I raided my ribbon stash again, this time retrieving a satin ribbon saved from a gift. I simply tied a bow, positioned it so it was at the front of the hat, and attached using small tacking stitches. I could have glued on the ribbon, but I like to be able to change embellishments now and again. 🙂

The hat is a little more flexible than I thought it would be, so I may have to experiment using fabric stiffeners. But for a £20 price tag, it is not bad.

All in all, I think a pretty good result. Hope you like them. Please have a go at upcycling or embellishing your accessories and post your photos and comments below.

Have fun 🙂

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

