Little French Jacket Challenge: Mood Board

Little French Jacket Mood Board

Hello,

Above is a mood board I have created for the Little French Jacket Challenge. I wanted to draw together images, photos and my ideas together in one place, to aid me in my jacket design.

I want to keep the basic structure of the jacket simple, and use good quality fabrics and notions which echo the famous Chanel look.

As a result of my research, I have decided the following:

Main fabric: Boucle wool

Lining fabric: Silk mix

Colour: Black

Embellishments: Hand knitted trim made from black textured wool, black/silver buttons

Style:

  • V neck, with collar, as round necklines do not suit me well,
  • 3 button jacket,
  • 4 buttons on cuffs,
  • 4 patch pockets (2 large, 2 medium), to be placed near the hem (no breast pockets) each finished with a button,
  • long, straight sleeves,
  • princess seams
  • chain link attached to lining, for extra weight.

This jacket is going to take several weeks to complete, and so I want to be able to wear it with anything from jeans and t-shirts, to an evening gown.

My decision to use a silk mix lining is based on my research – having read that pure silk is prone to damage and rapid ageing, I think it would be wise to use a lining material which has longevity.

Most of the materials have already been purchased, so it is now just a matter of gathering them together and deciding if I should draft my own pattern, or use a commercial pattern.  What do you think?

Looking forward to the challenge, but I know it will not be an easy one. Therefore I am going to take my time to create this garment, and try to plan everything before I cut the fabric.

I have also decided to make a matching skirt, based on the double side split skirts as showcased at the recent Chanel Paris Fashion Week. I will shortly post my fabric and notions selections, as well as a shortlist of possible patterns.

Are you taking part in this sew along? What do you plan for your jacket?

**********

Sew Along

Mood board created by Busy Elle Bee

Sources: (reading rows from left to right)

1., 3., 7., 8.,11., 15. –  Photography © Busy Elle Bee

7. – Styling and graphic designed by Elle of Busy Elle Bee

6., 12., – Photography © Busy Elle Bee (Original photography by Karl Lagerfeld)

10., 16 – Graphic designed by Elle of Busy Elle Bee

2. http://www.burdastyle.com/blog/a-classic-french-jacket-70-hours-to-the-dream

4. http://girlatthemirror.com/2012/06/loving-right-now/

5. http://tmagazine.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/06/23/go-for-broke-chanel-jacket-4710/?_r=0

9. Chanel.com

13. Chanel.com

14. http://www.cecloset.com/products/chan-el-inspired-tweed-jacket

13 thoughts on “Little French Jacket Challenge: Mood Board

  1. I love your mood board: very creative and inspiring. Fear not the challenge! The LFJ is not as difficult as most people think. We don’t use underlining, facing, we use not-so-difficult-to-work-with fabric, we use very basic techniques (sewing in straight line). What people might fear is hand-sewing 🙂 But this is the most relaxing process ever! You can watch movies while stitching your lining together! The process is also time consuming but, hey, this is not a MacDonalds menu! We will all end up with most beautiful and comfortable garments!

    1. Hello, thanks for your message – I especially like the phrase, “Fear not the challenge”.

      At the moment, I’m most concerned about the basic pattern. Do I use a commercial pattern and adapt it, or do I draft a pattern from scratch? Bearing in mind I have only drafted simple skirts before.

      I like the sound of using basic techniques – why over–complicate things when you don’t have to? Hand sewing I find relaxing, my main issue with this project so far, (apart from the pattern) is sourcing a lining I like.

      What ever happens, this is going to be a L..O..N..G.. project. If I finish it by the end of the year I will be surprised, but as you suggest, this is not a Maccy D menu, we’re talking Claridge’s standard! 😀 Take care.

      1. Hehe 🙂 It’s going to be a real feast!

        To be honest with you, I would not draft a pattern from scratch for this projects. There’s enough to do without drafting. V7975 is the best – classic shape + a few variations.

        As for the lining, I bought mine on Etsy . Have a look at this shop and maybe you’ll find something there! Good luck 🙂

      2. I’m beginning to think that the ‘draft the entire jacket’, maybe be a little extreme. I like the look of V7975, thanks so much for the tips 🙂

  2. I love your idea of a mood board. I may have to do that one for myself. I’m definitely sewing along with this one. I have my muslin started, although I have some adjustments to do. I haven’t been able to find a lining I want for a gorgeous red boucle I have, but have just ordered a navy boucle and lining from Mood.

    What is your lining fibers?? silk and ?? Lining has been my biggest challenge. I look forward to seeing your progress.
    Ramona

    1. Hello Ramona, thank you for your great message. I decided to make a mood board because I helps me focus my ideas, and also ‘makes’ me overcome the most difficult part of any project – the start!

      Your red and navy boucle fabrics sound lovely. Oddly I have found it difficult to source lining fabric on the internet – I do have a lining fabric in my stash, but I’m not sure I want to use it for this project. I will explain why in a future post.

      My ideal lining would be a silk mix (silk and cotton). Good luck with your muslin, cant wait to see your jackets 🙂

  3. This jacket will take time Elle, but it will be beautiful. I would like to take part in this challenge, but I have far too much to do at the moment. Sometimes you have to no when to say no. Also, it is not easy to get the fabrics here, and I would have to wait for international delivery. I will be watching your progress though, and cheering you on 🙂

    1. Hello Sarah Liz,
      How are you? Thanks for your great comment and kind words – I think with this project I will need all the support I can get, so very much appreciate you cheering me on 🙂

      You raised a very good point about knowing when to say no to a project. I have so many sewing plans and folders full of drawings etc. In fact this jacket project is my 3rd attempt. But I am determined to complete this, even if I have to stop making chocolate cakes for a while!

      No chocolate cake … oh no – what have I done?

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

