Cami dress number 2

© Busyellebee.wordpress.com Hello, Well here’s my 2nd Cami dress, made from the Pauline Alice pattern. This was a very a super quick sewing project only hampered by waiting for the polka dot buttons to arrive. Only about 4 hours from start to finish (plus 3 days to wait for the buttons via the post). This dress design has been made up with plain solids, gingham, lovely embroidered fabric and beautiful ditsy printed fabric.  So I thought why not use up my 100% cotton polka dots. Polka dot Cami Dress The collar differs from the original pattern, I still added the under collar but I drafted a peter pan collar, using white cotton fabric, as an alternative to the standard shaped collar included in the original pattern.  I also used polka dot buttons to compliment the dress and omitted the sleeves.  I’m hoping that I can wear the dress in the Summer months on it’s own, and during the Autumn months with a cardigan or jumper. I just need the bicycle with the big basket on the front, a big bow in my hair and I’m all set for a retro gig. I also kinda broke another rule; I was trying to get away from dark colours, but I figure this doesn’t count as polka dots are girly and I can add brightly coloured accessories to jazz the dress up. I’m very pleased with the outcome of the dress, and plan to make some more. This pattern is great as it is easy to add your own design or style touches without having to alter the pattern too much.  Next up I’m thinking of making a blue version of the red chambray Cami dress with short sleeves and self covered buttons, and possibly a patch pocket on the bodice. Having discovered I had 2 loads of black polka dot fabric (the second set has bigger dots!), I also made a quick gathered skirt. More on this in a later post.  You may also be glad to know that I finally, after over a year made my secret sewing project which is a skirt.  But not just any skirt.  Again more of this in a future post. My custom made wardrobe is suddenly shaping up into a great looking collection.  It’s true what they say, once you get the sewing bug, there is no stopping you. You have been warned!

Your thoughts and comments are appreciated, please feel free to say hi, and drop a line or 2 :)

